This guide explains how to let freelancers message customers without them previously having had any communication.
Step by Step Guide
On your admin dashboard under settings is the option to ‘Allow Freelancers to message Customers without being messaged first?’
This feature by default is disabled to ensure that multiple freelancers can’t spam a customer by continually asking whether their candidacy for a job has been assessed yet. When a customer has messaged a freelancer about a specific job the freelancer can respond at their leisure. However a freelancer cannot initiate a conversation, as they will receive an error message as seen below.
Once this feature is enabled freelancers will be able to message a customer first.